National Natural Parks of Colombia is acknowledged worldwide for its rich biodiversity it occupies first place in wildfowl and amphibians, second in plants, third in reptiles and fifth in mammals.

Colombia took the first steps towards protecting its natural heritage in 1960, when it instituted the first national protected area: the Cueva de Los Guacharos. In 1996 the Policy of Social Involvement in Conservation began to make a substantial contribution to in situ preservation of our biodiversity and, at the same time, to improve the living conditions of the rural communities. Today, the National Natural Parks System covers 57 protected areas that together account for over.

Uramba National Park - Tourism in Colombia

Uramba Bahía Málaga National Natural Park

14.2 million hectares, the equivalent of more than 11 % of the national territory. Protecting such a vast area is by no means an easy task, however, due not only to its size but also to the fact that the protected areas included in the System are scattered all over Colombia.

Although for the sake of this book we have grouped the National Natural Parks System protected areas into four regions, in biogeographical terms Colombia actually comprises five natural continental regions and one natural maritime region, namely:

Amazon: containing southern Colombia, whose low-altitude relief is covered mostly by tropical rainforests.

  • Serranía de Chiribiquete National Natural Park
  • the River Pure National Park
  • Nukak National Natural Reserve
  • Puinawai Natural Reserve
  • Alto Fragua Indi Wasi National Park
  • orito ingi-ande medicinal plants sanctuary
  • Yaigojé Apaporis National Natural Park
Such wealth is an enormous privilege, although it also entails the major responsibility of preserving it for future generations. At present, the mission of preserving the natural and cultural riches protected in parks is entrusted to a human team formed by the Afro-Colombian, rural and indigenous communities who live either inside or on the hinterlands of the protected areas and are committed to the cause of natural heritage conservation.

Orinoquia: stretching out in the north of eastern Colombia in the Orinoco Basin. Its vast savannahs are known in the country as Los Llanos Orientales.

Andean Region: corresponding to the Colombian sector of the Andes range, which divides into three branches in the south of the country. All the varieties of thermal floor are present here, from hot to snow-capped peaks.

Caribbean Region: comprising the coastal plains of the Colombian Caribbean and its offshore islands. Dominating this predominantly flat area is the Sierra Nevada de Santa Marta, in which the country’s highest peaks are located.

Insular Region: embracing those Colombian islands that are not regarded as offshore, that is, oceanic Islands such as the Archipelago of San Andres y Providencia in the (Caribbean and Malpelo Island in the Pacific).

Pacific Region: comprising the coastal plains of the Colombian Pacific, the local offshore islands in the exceptional Serrania del Baudó, which like the Sierra Nevada de Santa Marta does not belong to the Andes.

Colombia Travel Guide - Tourism in Colombia

travel_peru_icon_tourism General Information About Colombia: National symbols of ColombiaColombia: living historyGeography of ColombiaEconomy of ColombiaLanguages of Colombia

travel_peru_icon_tourism Practical information about Colombia: ClimateHow to get to ColombiaVisa, Customs, Documentation and TaxesEmbassies and consulates in ColombiaHealth and vaccinationEmergency numbersCulture of ColombiaMeasures and ElectricityCurrency of Colombia

travel_peru_icon_tourism Tourist Information about Colombia: General Information – Practical information about ColombiaAdventure Colombia – Hotels and accommodations in ColombiaHow to Get to Colombia – Gastronomy in ColombiaColombia’s Best Festivals and CarnivalsTourist Attractions in ColombiaForeign Embassies and Consulates in ColombiaTips and advice for travel in ColombiaTop 10 Colombian Travel DestinationsNatural regions of Colombia Cultural Tourism in ColombiaUNESCO Intangible Cultural Heritage Lists –  UNESCO Heritage Sites in ColombiaTop 10 amazing places to visit in Colombia – Colombian Cuisine – Tourism of Nature

tourist_guide_peru_travel Travel Guide of Colombia: Colombia Travel Guide – AmazonasAntioquiaAraucaAtlánticoBolivarBoyacáCaldasCaquetáCasanareCaucaCesarChocóCórdobaCundinamarcaGuaníaGuaviareHuilaLa GuajiraMagdalenaMetaNariñoNorte de SantanderPutumayoQuindioRisaraldaSan Andrés y ProvidenciaSantanderSucreTolimaValle del CaucaVaupésVichada

Flights, Cheap Airfare Deals & Plane Tickets